Orange County DUI Laws OC DUI Defense Orange County DUI Lawyers

Orange County Drunk Driving

California DUI Laws

California DUI LawsDriving under the influence is generally defined as the act of operating a motor vehicle (and even a bicycle, boat or horse in some jurisdictions) after having consumed alcohol or other drugs, to the degree that one’s mental and motor skills are impaired to the point that the individual is unable to operate a vehicle with the same caution and safety that a sober person would have, utilizing ordinary care and under similar circumstances.

In the state of California DUI laws are governed by Vehicle Code 23152, which states;

(a) It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle.

(b) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.

(d) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210.

In any prosecution under these laws, it is a rebuttable, or arguable, presumption that the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the person had 0.08 percent (.04 percent for drivers of a commercial motor vehicle) or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time a chemical test was performed within three hours after the driving.

Percent, by weight, of alcohol in a person's blood is based upon grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

Conviction of driving under the influence in Orange County, California can result in hefty fines, license suspension, probation, court-mandated alcohol education programs, increased car insurance rates, mandatory installation of vehicle ignition interlock systems and other anti-alcohol devises, as well as jail time.

By law, individuals charged with suspicion of DUI are innocent until proven guilty in a court of law, and they have the right to be defended by a personally retained Orange County DUI-DWI lawyer or a court appointed public defender from the Orange County Public Defender’s Office.

More Information:

The 10 Day Rule
The DMV DUI Hearing
What to ask a DUI lawyer

OrangeCountyDUIinformation.com is an informational website provided by a top Orange County DUI lawyer to help those charged with drunk driving in these Orange County cities: Aliso Viejo, Anaheim, Brea, Buena Park, Costa Mesa, Cypress, Dana Point, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Irvine, La Habra, La Palma, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Mission Viejo, Newport Beach, Orange, Placentia, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Surfside, Tustin, Villa Park, Westminster and Yorba Linda.